Amit Mishra Spins Back to India Test Squad for Sri Lanka Tour

Amit Mishra returned to the Indian Test side as the Virat Kohli-led squad for Sri Lanka was announced today. The 15-member side had no major surprises as most of the senior men returned to India duty after their well-earned rest. Ravi Shastri too returned as the team director after taking a break from the Zimbabwe series. (Kohli’s Pakistani ‘Lookalike’ Sets Twitter Abuzz)
The six specialist batsmen who were automatic choices are openers Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan, skipper Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma and A team captain Cheteshwar Pujara. KL Rahul, who missed out against Bangladesh due to dengue, also made a come back as the seventh batsman and the reserve opener. (India Can Beat Sri Lanka: Laxman)
Wriddhiman Saha was the automatic selection as first-choice wicketkeeper. (India vs Sri Lanka 2015 Schedule)
The four pacers, who made the cut are Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Varun Aaron, who right now is recovering from his bout of influenza.
The two off-spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Harbhajan Singh retained their places while Amit Mishra won the battle of the third spinner’s slot. Mishra, who returned to the Test outfit after a gap of four years, replaced Karn Sharma who suffered a fractured finger before the Zimbabwe series.
India are set to play Sri Lanka in a three-match Test series from August 12. The Tests will be played in Galle (August 12-16), Colombo’s P.Sara Oval (August 20-24) and the Sinhalese Sports Club in Colombo (August 28 – September 1).
India vs Sri Lanka Test Squad:
Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Varun Aaron, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Amit Mishra.