Angelo Mathews Leads Experienced Sri Lanka ODI Squad!

England will face many familiar opponents at the start of their one-day international series against Sri Lanka, after a 15-man squad was announced on Monday for the first three of seven matches.

Angelo Mathews will lead a lineup including the veteran batsmen Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara, as the pair embark on their final winter of ODI cricket culminating in the World Cup.

Sangakkara appears set to keep wicket, after Dinesh Chandimal, who deputised in the final two matches against India, was dropped following that 5-0 trouncing earlier this month.

The injured fast bowler Lasith Malinga will not be available again until early next year at best, but the left-arm spinner Rangana Herath is back.

Also in the 15 are the pace pair Dhammika Prasad and Shaminda Eranga, who helped Sri Lanka to a surprise Test series win over England last summer.

Prasad humbled the hosts with a career-best five for 50 in the second innings of Sri Lanka’s 100-run victory at Headingley five months ago. The first match of the series will take place at Colombo’s Premadasa Stadium on Wednesday.

Sri Lanka squad (v England)

A Mathews (capt), T Dilshan, K Perera, K Sangakkara (wkt), M Jayawardene, L Thirimanne, J Mendis, T Kandamby, R Herath, D Perera, A Mendis, S Eranga, D Prasad, T Perera, L Gamage.