Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy awards shortlist announced!

The nominees for this year’s Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards have been unveiled.

The shortlisted acts include James Acaster, Alex Horne and Sara Pascoe for the award, now in its 34th year.

The other nominees for best comedy show are John Kearns, Liam Williams, Romesh Ranganathan and Sam Simmons.

The winners will be announced in a ceremony on Saturday at Dovecote Studios in Edinburgh.

The awards celebrate the best comedy at the Edinburgh Fringe.

The awards’ producer, Nica Burns, said: “For the second year running, reflecting the huge amount of diverse comedy talent at the fringe, the shortlist for the Foster’s Best Comedy Show is seven strong. Between them, these outstanding performers reach every funny bone.”

Also announced are the nominations for the best newcomer category, which include Alex Edelman, Dane Baptiste, Gein’s Family, Lazy Susan, Lucy Beaumont and Steen Raskopoulos.

The awards and prizes are: Best comedy show with a cash prize of £10,000, best newcomer with a cash prize of £5,000 and panel prize with a cash prize of £5,000.