RTS Awards…

Krishnan Guru-Murthy (l) and Jon Snow (second left) failed to win presenting honours for Channel 4 News

Channel 4 News has been named daily news programme of the year at the Royal Television Society (RTS) Awards.

But Channel 4 news hosts Jon Snow and Krishnan Guru-Murthy lost out to ITV’s Mark Austin for national presenter.

The BBC’s Middle East Editor Jeremy Bowen won television news reporter of the year at the gala in central London.

BBC News cameraman Darren Conway won for the second year running and was called “outstanding” in his field by the awards judges.

Conway, who has worked in Syria, was praised for being “unerring in his ability to take stunning pictures under the most intense pressure”.

Bowen was singled out for his work in Egypt during the prolonged unrest in the country, and hailed for his ability to deliver the news after he had been injured by shotgun pellets.

He was also nominated in the specialist journalist of the year category, but lost out to Channel 4’s Michael Crick.

ITV News picked up two honours for their coverage of the murder of Lee Rigby in Woolwich, including scoop of the year for broadcasting the first pictures of the attack taken on a mobile phone by a witness.

The BBC performed strongly in regional news, with wins for current affairs news programme, news event and best presenter for Look East’s veteran host Stewart White.

Veteran BBC journalist Peter Taylor was given a lifetime achievement award for his 45-year career, which has included an analysis of the rise of Islamic terrorism since the 9/11 attacks and programmes on the conflict in Northern Ireland.